sc2c.org

Go Back   Sc2C.org > Developer's Corner > General Development
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2011, 09:18 PM   #1
darkwulfv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default Where to start?

So I wanna start map-making for Sc2, but I honestly haven't the slightest idea where to begin; I don't mean idea-wise.. I mean editing. The scripting looks... horrifying, and I have no idea what the hell the Data editor is for, let alone the other components (though they look rather easy). So... Are there tools, editor mods (like the old NewGen editor for Wc3), tutorials, etc. I can start looking through? Unfortunately, I didn't seem to find any here, where I was hoping to start.
darkwulfv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 09:22 PM   #2
Anopob
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 36
Default

sc2mapster.com is basically the place to start and go for everything modding related. Data editing is like object editing except much stronger obviously, because it can deal with A LOT of custom spells and such without the use of triggers.
Anopob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 09:34 PM   #3
darkwulfv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah, after clicking some buttons in the Data Editor I put it into a view that is a lot less frightening to look at, but it's still quite a beast. Thanks for the tip. Good to see you again, by the way.
darkwulfv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 12:34 AM   #4
Enviable Lemon
Reputation Leech
 
Enviable Lemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to Enviable Lemon
Default

just be prepared for it to take forever to get anything done; most of the models consist of 2 or 3 parts within the editor and each has to be changed by going through multiple windows. then they have to all be added to each other and then to the unit. i never got it to work, i just figured that much out.
Enviable Lemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:08 AM   #5
darkwulfv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah, I'm seeing now that Blizzard definitely added waayyy more power to the editor, but failed to make it user-friendly... Trying to make a new unit is a horrifying prospect, from what I can see.
darkwulfv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 12:44 AM   #6
Enviable Lemon
Reputation Leech
 
Enviable Lemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to Enviable Lemon
Default

pretty much. and the issue, from my point of view, isn't that there's so much, it's that it's all layered. rather than just sticking it in the unit's window, it's all in multiple places.
Enviable Lemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 05:06 AM   #7
Alevice
Member
 
Alevice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 56
Default

You can look ere for my unfinished hero tutorial. it might help
__________________
Alevice#702
Alevice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 03:40 AM   #8
darkwulfv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default

So after following a how-to for unit editing and hero creating, I've gotten a bit of a handle on the Data editor. It's still awful to work with, given the nested complexities of units, with actors and weapons and behaviors and effects all over the place, some linking to your unit after you don't want them to, or not at all.... And no simple way to say "LINK TO THIS DAMN UNIT. RIGHT HERE. THIS ONE." I appreciate the vastly improved capabilities, but... Jeeze, it could've been arranged in a much more user-friendly manner. I'd hate having to edit maps on a slower computer... Loading the data every other click is horrible.
darkwulfv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 06:50 PM   #9
syltman
Made of jam
 
syltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I read somewhere that you can edit with xml now or something, that should be way faster to use.
syltman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:43 PM   #10
darkwulfv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default

You can, it has an xml editor built in, but you'd have to know what you're looking at anyways. And that doesn't alleviate the problem of the data having to load when switching between Data sets, which for some can be a pretty hefty load. Especially if you have the campaign/story dependencies loaded.
darkwulfv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.