sc2c.org

Go Back   Sc2C.org > Developer's Corner > Data Editing
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2010, 05:50 AM   #1
frozenfire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 17
Default Smart Validators? How do they work?

Does anybody have any idea how smart validator works?

I created a 'combine' Validator called LockDownValidatorCombine. Put 2 validator in it.

One that puts Mechanical as Required
One that puts Can Have Energy as Required ( tried Have Energy too )

then I use OR function on LockDownValidatorCombine. Supposedly linking the 2 validator with OR function.


Then in my intended ability, set the Smart Validators to point at LockDownValidatorCombine.

Doesn't seems to work. Anybody knows why it's like this? I intend to make the ability Lockdown to target either unit with Mechanical flag or any unit with energy. Don't work. The ability seems to work on every unit. I tried with or without target filters, don't work either. I tried one of the stock Combine Validator called ( Have Energy or Shields ) , don't work either...

any idea? maybe ther'es a switch or something that tells it to use smart validator?
frozenfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 01:03 PM   #2
Adovid
Data Editor ZOMG
 
Adovid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Smart validation isn't for the condition for the ability-- it most likely has something to do with when you issue the smart command via right click.

You need to find the regular validator field for enforcing the ability.

If it's like the snipe ability and doesn't have a validator you are probably going to have to change your ability or recreate it so that it is a standard apply effect ability.
Adovid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 06:33 AM   #3
frozenfire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 17
Default

ah hell, I've been assuming smart validators are for that. i've been fed the wrong info to think smart validators work in this case.

so is there a way to make validators work on an OR funciton rather than AND.

I want a spell with target filters that makes it required:Mechanical OR required:CanHaveEnergy
if I set both to required, it will require both.
frozenfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 07:44 AM   #4
snow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Make another requirement of the type combine. It has support for OR constructs.
snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 08:03 PM   #5
frozenfire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 17
Default

thanks. I got this to work by putting the requirements in the effect part rather than the ability part. The ability part only have target filters.
frozenfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.